Food’s you should be making but you buy

granola bars

I was eating a $3.00 healthy granola bar the other day and it got me thinking, why don’t I just make these? I looked at the ingredient list and saw it was nothing more than sunflower seeds, dried cherries, pumpkin seeds, brown rice cereal, honey and butter. Nothing was in them that I couldn’t find at the grocery store so why wasn’t I making them? It would be so easy to make a batch on a Sunday night that would last the week.
And it’s not just granola bars, I end up buying all kinds of things that I could and should just make myself. In an effort to be more healthy and to cut down on my grocery bill I plan to start making my own granola bars and so much more.
Here are some books you can check out from the library to help you get started on making things from scratch instead of buying them.
The homemade pantry: 101 foods you can stop buying and start making by Alana Chernila
Homemade with love by Jennifer Perillo
Home made by Yvette van Boven
One thought on “Food’s you should be making but you buy

  1. mudpilewood

    I agree with you, I buy very little bread as we make our own. Lately we have been making Irish brown bread (soda bread) it has no yeast, is easy to make and I can make three or four loaves at a time. The recipe’s I found for granola bars all have a huge content of sugar so I have been experimenting with using less sugar, (not always with success).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

