Make your own clothing

closet-clothes-donate-600

Recently I was having a conversation with a few of my colleagues about women’s clothing and the huge variation that is seen in sizing, I can go from a size 2 in some places to a size 6 in others, in my head a size 2 and a size 6 are not the same. We were also talking about how years ago you didn’t see anything smaller than a size 4 or 6 and now, a size 6 is considered on the larger side and we have sizes as small as 00.
If I were better with a sewing machine I would make my own clothing. Here are some of the books I’ve looked at wishing I knew how to sew.
Dressmaking: the complete step-by-step guide to making your own cloths by Alison Smith
Gertie’s new book for better sewing: a modern guide to country-style sewing using basic vintage techniques by Gretchen Hirsch
Girls style book by Yoshiko Tsukiori
Famous frocks by Sara Alm
The Colette sewing handbook: inspired style and classic techniques for the new seamstress by Sarai Mitnick
Handmade beginnings: 24 sewing projects to welcome baby by Anna Maria Horner
The perfect pajama by Kristina Nilsson
One thought on “Make your own clothing

  1. mudpilewood

    An interesting post, I thought of going back to making my own dresses but discovered that since the Celtic Tiger appeared here in Ireland, the dress fabric shops are no longer around. We have to travel into the next County or to Dublin to find one. (Maria)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

