Cooking out of my comfort zone

Here is another installment of Cooking out of your comfort zone. This time I’ve made Momofuku Milk Bar‘s Candy Bar Pie. What can I say I love this cookbook and am dying to go to their bakery in New York City.

candybarpie

Again I made this gluten-free so I could eat it and it was so good. Like the birthday cake this pie took up an afternoon because you have to make 5 different recipes to make one pie. First you have to make chocolate crumb to make the chocolate crust. Then you make the salty caramel and put that in the cooled crust and let it set up. To make the peanut butter nougat you have to first make peanut brittle.
I know this all sounds like a lot but none of it is overly complicated it’s just time-consuming. But trust me it’s well worth the time you put into the pie to see looks on people’s faces when they take that first bite of pie. The sweetness of the caramel and chocolate goes so well with salty pretzels and peanut butter nougat.
Leave a comment or email us at gplinthehouse@gmail.com to let us know what you’ve been making to get out of your comfort zone.
Leave a Reply

