Cooking out of my comfort zone

Here is another installment of Cooking out of your comfort zone. This time I’ve made Momofuku Milk Bar‘s Birthday Cake.

bdaycake

I made this cake for my dad’s birthday because he loves confetti cake and this looked so much nicer than a mix cake.  I was also able to make it gluten-free so I could have some as well.
This cake took me a whole day to make. It’s very time intensive and requires you to make a few different recipes to put the whole thing together. I guess they do this on purpose so you will just buy the cake from them, but I don’t live in New York City so…. I made it. It was amazing, just like a boxed cake but I could eat it. The icing tasted just like it came from a can but i knew exactly what was in it. The homemade cookie crumb on the top of the cake is also in the icing layers of the cake giving you a nice crunchy bit every now and then.
I would make this cake again for sure, it was well worth the time and effort to make it. Plus who wouldn’t want to get a cake that looks that good for their birthday?
Leave a comment or email us at gplinthehouse@gmail.com to let us know what you’ve been making to get out of your comfort zone.
Books for inspiration
All cakes considered by Melissa Gray
Baking with the Cake Boss by Buddy Valastro
Party cakes by Mitch Turner
2 thoughts on “Cooking out of my comfort zone

Leave a Reply

