Snacking: Healthy vs Junk

It’s 11:30 am and I’m starving. My lunch isn’t until 1 pm today and I’m stuck with the choice, healthy  food or junk food. Coffee and a sweet treat sounds great but I know I will be hungry shortly after eating it, on the other hand I don’t want a piece of fruit I want more than that.
I settled on getting a fruit smoothie. But this got me thinking why do I crave sugar so much and what can I do to make healthy options more appealing. I did a bit of digging and found that there is no one reason we crave sugar, it comes down to many. One of the reasons we crave sugar (or caffeine) is because of our adrenal function. Adrenal glands are a hormone gland that sits above your kidneys and make epinephrine (better known as adrenaline). When we get stressed our adrenal glands kick into overdrive and produce more epinephrine than we need, this causes us to use up a lot of our energy and sugar is used by the body as a fast way to get energy. Who knew it was a small glad that makes you crave all the sugar.
But don’t stress about it, that will make you want sugar. If you are feeling tired and hungry and want a sugar boost try to relax, step away from what ever is stressing you out for 15 or 20 minutes and have something healthy. It might take a bit longer for that energy to be used but you will feel better in the long run.
Here are some books that can help relive the stress.
The craving cure: break the hold carbs and sweets have on your life by Rena Greenberg
Breaking the food seduction: the hidden reasons behind food cravings by Neal Barnard
Grazing: a healthier approach to snacks and finger foods by Julie Van Rosendaal
100-calorie snack cookbook by Sally Sampson
Grazing: portable snacks and finger foods for anywhere, anytime by Julie Van Rosendaal
Leave a Reply

